Pathfindersonline

Networking ideas for Pathfinder Ministry
It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:02 am 
New Friend

This is my first year becoming a new start Pathfinder Club director in our church.

What you usually you all do to seperate the kids to class, is that by the age or the grade? Some Pathfinders at our church have the same age but different grade some example like age 13 grade 6 other age 13 grade 8 or age 16 grade 10 and so on.

In our church we also have Adventurer Club which are seperated by grade (1-4) not by age.

What is the guideline? In the manual I only see Pathfinder start by age 10 or grade 5. Not really sure what is recommended.
Please help. Thank you

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:07 am 
Master Guide

Well... I suppose that isn't the most clear. But it is usually best to separate the kids by the groups that they are used to being in, which is usually grade. If there are kids that are 1 or 2 years apart, but spend their days in school together, they will usually be pretty close in ability level. We have found that grade is the best separator for Pathfinders...

anybody else?

they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze”
Isaiah 43:1-3

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:59 am 
Helpful Explorer

Our club goes by grade as well. I think it is set up that way to be a little flexible. If you go by age, things change throughout the year, and by grade things stay the same. But sometimes a situation might arise where a child is older than his grade level. In that case depending on the person, situation, and the club, you might place the child in their age group rather than their grade. We did that last year.

Jonathan

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:34 pm 
Astute Guide