PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:06 am 
Superlative Voyager

I earned the physical fitness honor during the fall

It was fun

Marcie

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:34 pm 
Superlative Voyager

Goodness, I'm glad I completed my Master Guide when I was a teen. I don't know if I'd be able to now. My poor body is aged far beyond my years. But need to start an exercise program anyway.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:45 pm 
Master Guide

I thought I was on the way with the physical fitness requirement, but alas! Not quite!

Where I work, we started a 12-week program called 10K-a-day. All the participants were issued pedometers and were asked to record how many steps they took every day for 12 weeks, with the goal being to get at least 10,000 steps in each day (that's about five miles).

Well, I had already started a walking program of my own (having previously recognized my mostly sedentary lifestyle). So this was great for me - just keep on doing what I had already been doing, but record it in a competition.

The 12 weeks are over now, though the awards have not yet been handed out. Our HR administrator told me that I had won - I don't know if that was for the whole 12 weeks or just for the final four weeks. I WOULD have won the middle four weeks except that I did not email the record of one of my weeks in - I averaged 23K steps per day during those four weeks too. I sure THOUGHT I had emailed them in, but no. I didn't. I averaged 25K/day during the last 4 weeks though.

So I was thinking this would count until I re-read the requirement - it had to be AEROBIC! Not that I feel I wasted my time. I've kept up the walking even though the program has ended. In fact, today I walked along the back of a parking lot and was able to harvest a couple of sumac fruits (one staghorn sumac, one smooth sumac, neither poison sumac), some milkweed pods, and a handful of blackberries. Yes, I'm working on the Edible WIld Plant honor.